3 days till Halloween

And I’m thinking about Christmas!!  Oh, don’t worry, I’d NEVER skip Thanksgiving.  Sheesh, I barely skip breakfast, do you think I’d skip THAT meal??  LOL!!! I’m actually excited for Thanksgiving this year.  For the first time in, well, forever.. my family is coming to my house!  My Mom, my Brother and Nephew, and our Bestest family friend Deb!  It’s going to be great!  But, my Mind is decorating for Christmas!!

  I made a trip to the Dollar Tree.. amazing, ME??  At the Dollar Tree?  Or as we call it, The 20 Dollar Tree!!  Seriously, I don’t think I’ve ever spent under 20 dollars there.  There’s always some school supply or gadget that I need.. or a decorating idea.. that I NEED!! 

So, I was there.. and I saw THESE

Barn Stars

Barn Stars

Oh yeah.. they’re cute enough.
santa

santa

snowman

snowman

But wait.. there’s Spray Paint involved!  I had to go to Walmart to get some of that.. can you believe that I was out of Spray Paint?  I didn’t have ANY black or Heirloom White.. hmmm.. is that a hint???  I’m going for a new look on my tree this year.. maybe it involves black, white or red.. maybe!! 
And.. while I’m on that topic.. Last year my tree stand DIED!  I just remembered this today.  Now, it’s not my forever and ever tree… it’s a 7 feet, pre-lit slim pine.  I dream of having a tall fluffy one.. but it just won’t work in THIS house.. maybe next year!!  So, last year I put the tree in one of my crock’s (not the shoes) and loaded it with pebbles to hold it up.. It worked fairly well, but I still worried about it endlessly!  So.. I’m thinking of finding a big Urn in the Garden Shop at Home Depot (I have my eye on one.. on clearance)  and cementing it in there.  What do you think?  I’ll be using this tree in the Dining room in our next house.. so I want something pretty.  Help me out!!  I have it pictured in my head perfectly.. just hope that it turns out.  I’ve never actually cemented anything.. soooooo…
And… check out this beauty.. (lol- Sophie and Sully are sniffing it for you)
valet

valet

 I found this at the thrift shop on base yesterday.. it’s marked 4.99.. I got it for 2.49!!  Whoo hoo!!  I’ve been looking for something like this for my bedroom for Hubs’ stuff!  It’s definitely getting some spray paint today- along with the stars!  I’m hoping that it warms up a bit so the paint will dry!! 

How’s your Tuesay???

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “3 days till Halloween

  1. Oh, I know what you mean about the Dollar Tree!!! Those are pretty cute stars though….and you are going to paint them?? I think cementing the tree in the stand is a fabulous idea……I would just put some in the bottom part (so it is not so heavy you can’t move it) and then you could always put some kind of filler on that and moss or a tree skirt or something like that.

    That stand will be great for your hubby’s stuff!

    Oh, and it doesn’t look like you have been BOO-ed yet so stop by my blog……you now officially have!!!

  2. I agree with Darlene – you put too much cement and you will not be able to move it around easily. I really wish my mind worked like yours! I am not that creative. Well, if you give me a pile of stuff and tell me to create something, I could, BUT…if it is left up to me to find stuff to create I cannot! In fact, I have some wasted “decorative” space in my new house and have not one clue what to do with it. My style tends towards clean, contemporary if you can think of anything!

  3. Cute stars! I bought a bunch last year from a catalog but I may need a few more… since they are only $1 and all. :o)

    I bought a tree stand last year after Xmas for 75% off. I broke mine trying to wrangle the tree out of the corner. Typical. I like your idea of using an urn…but like the others mentioned… it may get HEAVY!

  4. Gina

    I went to Dollar Tree today and spent $17+. I can never seem to get out of there for under $15 myself. 🙂

  5. I cannot wait to see what you have in store!

Leave a Reply

