Easy Peasy Biscotti!

I’ve had a few requests for the Biscotti Recipe.. I’m happy to oblige, its so easy, and very yummy! 

Cake Mix Biscotti

1 box (18.25 ounce size) Cake Mix.  Now, get creative.. I’ve used Lemon, Orange Supreme, Devil’s Food, Vanilla (especially good as a base.. I’ve put a package of butterscotch instant pudding in there.. or pistachio)

1 cup flour

2 eggs (slightly beaten) 
1 stick butter, melted

3/4 cup Chocolate Chips, Nuts, Coconut, dried cherries or cranberries.. anything!
Chocolate chips, Butterscotch, Peanut Butter, White Chocolate.. whatever.. melt them in the microwave in a baggie.. this is to drizzle on top of the cooled biscotti.. I guess around 1/2 cup.

 

 

 

Directions:

Heat oven to 350 degrees. Line your baking sheet with parchment paper.
In a large bowl, combine cake mix, flour, eggs and melted butter; (and pudding pouch if you are using one)  beat with an electric mixer until dough comes together. Use your hands to knead in the extra’s. Transfer dough to your baking sheet and shape into a 13- by 3-inch rectangle- I call it a log.  The wider your log, the longer your biscotti will be.. but you won’t get as many.  Bake 35 minutes. Let cool on pan about 30 minutes, then slice into 1/2- to 3/4-inch-thick slices, slicing across the width of the log.

Arrange slices cut-side down on both baking sheets. Bake 15 minutes, reduce oven heat to 200 degrees and bake an additional 20 to 30 minutes, or until biscotti are dry. Let cool completely. (They will harden more as they cool.)

Then melt your chips if you are using them.. snip off the end, then drizzle over the biscotti.  Keep in an airtight container.  These will be okay for a couple of weeks.. if they last that long!

I’m going to make some Black Forest ones today.. Chocolate Fudge with dried cherries.. YUM!!!!  If you come up with any yummy combo’s leave me a message.. We LOVE this cookie.. and I like to make a variety of flavors for Christmas giving!

8 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

8 responses to “Easy Peasy Biscotti!

  1. You should have prefaced this blog with “those of you hungry and dieting read no further!” lol Sounds YUMMY, but I won’t be trying it. I WANT to, but…I will be strong!

  2. Gina

    Ooohh Thank you. Sounds easy so maybe I can do it. 😉
    I will make them soon. I think I would like chocolate drizzled on them best.

  3. Joy

    MMmmmmm! I think I might have to try this recipe. Just looking at your picture of them makes my mouth water. OH! And I love all of the signs that you’ve stitched! It’s such a blessing to be able to decorate your home using the talents you have, including the talent of turning trash into treasure with spray paint! You’re awesome!!!

  4. Blarg, I can’t believe I am finally getting around to get this!

    I am printing it now. Sounds yummy.

  5. Pingback: Cara’s Biscotti Recipe with an Iowa Twist | Sassy Homemaker

  6. “Somebody” may or may not be begging you not to break up with her after you see her fine job of making biscotti. Just sayin……….

  7. Oh good, does that mean I’ll get a ring soon? ~snort~

  8. Wonderful page:) i will definitely visit again.

Leave a Reply

