What’s your favorite Thrifty Find?

Rhoda over at Southern Hospitality is having a PARTY!!!  She wants everyone to share their favorite Thrifty Finds.  Although I don’t find half of the great things that Rhoda does, (she’s the yard sale QUEEN!) I had to join.. I love Yard Sales and going to Thrift Stores, and sometimes I even find something great!  So… here are my choices~

First.. the two Milk Glass Plates I found last week at a yard sale last weekend.. 15 cents each!  I have some ribbon that I want to weave through the holes~  I have yet to figure out where I’m going to put them.. but for 30 cents, who could pass them up?

next is my Kitchen Scale.  It was the first thing I bought for this house.  I had been looking for one for a long time, but I couldn’t find one that wasn’t out of my price range.  We were in a local junk store and I spotted it.. $20.00, talked the lady down to $15.00!  It lives in my Hoosier Cabinet.. a Flea Market find in Arkansas.  We hauled it all of the way to Colorado and worked like crazy people to get it cleaned up and painted before we moved here.  We talked them down to $150.00 from $200.00.

The Hoosier

Here is my breadbox… I found it for 2.00 at a yard sale in Colorado.. it was oak for a LONG time.. then last fall I finally painted it.  I love it.. its HUGE!!! 

 

Now.. head on over to Rhoda’s and take a peek at everyone else’s Finds!!

19 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

19 responses to “What’s your favorite Thrifty Find?

  1. Great finds! Thanks for joining the party. I expect it will take everyone until tomorrow to look through them all. Love the milk glass & the Hoosier. You did good!

    RHoda

  2. I LOVE that Hoosier–I have seen them in all colors, but never black. It is a beauty and you got it for a song! Your bread box is terrific, too. It was great to meet you through Rhoda’s Thrifty Find post.

  3. Oh, I LOVE all of your finds…esp. that Hoosier!! Y’all did a great job on it!

  4. That Hoosier is wonderful. I have always wanted one! I am going to have to come back and spend some time looking at your blog!

  5. Those milk glass bowls are great! Lots of possibilities with ribbon!

    I like your black paint…looks very trendy!
    Diane

  6. bj

    I love all your thrifty finds…ESPECIALLY that cabinet. Awesome!
    Thanks for sharing,
    bj

  7. Beautiful!! I have never heard it called a Hoosier!

  8. I have milkglass plates just like that and I love them, I use them for everything! Jen R

  9. Rhonda

    This is the third scale I have seen on blogs today and I so want one now! LOL! I love yours and that awesome hoosier! The black finish is really pretty! ~Rhonda 🙂

  10. 15 cents?!?! Seriously…everyone has much better yard sales in their towns than I do in mine, I swear. 🙂

    Every single on of these thrifty finds is totally up my alley. Thanks for sharing!

  11. What a super bargain with those plates. I know since I’ve been collecting them for several months for my future daughter-in-law’s bridal shower. I have already laced black ribbon through similar plates to use for the “black and white” wedding theme. Your hoosier is great…I might have to consider painting my grandmother’s black (it’s pale yellow now) because it is so striking! Thanks so much for stopping by my blog!

  12. Many great finds. My Mom has had a dry sink like that every since I can remember. It reminds me of home.

  13. I love all your finds! Yours is like the 4th scale I’ve seen on this thrifty tour today. :o) I have one too and I love it. It’s not nearly as cute as yours though! LOVE those plates!

  14. rue

    If you could see me right now, you would see someone that is green with envy! LOL Seriously, that hoosier and the scale are fantastic!! Great finds, all of them 🙂

    rue

  15. Cindy

    Any idea why they call it a hoosier cabinet? I love it and those milk glass dishes are too cute. My mom used to collect milk glass. I have no idea what happened to it all when she died, hmmm. I really like the bread box too, great finds!

  16. Look at all those cute items. YOU RAWK!

  17. Gina

    Oh I love the milk glass plates! They are so pretty.

  18. Girl.. I’m in AHHH over the hoosier.. it only leads me to believe that my friend DID in deed GET RIPPED off on hers!!! She paid $350 for one that is in poor shape if I do say so myself…
    Yours looks AMAZING!!!

    Great finds GIRL!!

  19. I love your hoosier. I have one, too, in my basement, collecting dust. We used it in our old house and it fit in perfectly and for some reason, I can’t seem to incorporate it anywhere in this house.

    Maybe the next house…. 😉

    Bella
    PS: you asked me about my pumpkins that I sprayed white…they were bought at a craft store a few years ago and I don’t know what they are made of, but it’s something light. They were orange with green stems and very faded…I was going to toss them, until I discovered spray paint 😉

Leave a Reply

