Ahhh.. Bread!

This is a post for my blog friend Karen over at My Yellow Farmhouse.  She just got a brand new bread machine.. I told her I’d post my easy as pie (I don’t understand that saying.. I find making pies VERY HARD!!!) White Bread Recipe.  Does anyone but my family eat White bread any more?  I use this for Pizza dough, bread sticks, rolls, and cinnamon rolls on the dough cycle; and for savory breads.. I’ve been known to add garlic, parmesan and cut up pepperoni chunks for a to die for addition to Friday Night Spaghetti.  Its also great with some Cheddar Cheese, Onion and Bacon Pieces with Potato Soup.. The possibilities are endless!  I’m a by eye adder (that makes no sense, but I can’t think of a more appropriate wording.)  I add about 1/4 cup of Cheese, a couple of tbs of Pepperoni or Bacon,  about a teaspoon of minced garlic or 1 tbs. of onion.  Just play around with it…

Here’s the recipe.. I even have it memorized- put the ingredients into the machine as directed by your model.  This is for a 2 lb. Machine.

8 oz warm water

1 oz milk

1 tbs. butter

1 teaspoon salt

3 cups Bread Flour (You can add 2 cups and one cup of whole wheat bread flour instead)

3 tbs. sugar

2 1/2 teaspoons of Bread Machine Yeast (I buy a jar and keep it in the freezer)

This works for a timed cycle or rapid or dough.  My machine beeps about 13 minutes into the kneading.. that is my signal to add extra’s to it (cheese, garlic, onion.. whatever) then just bake!  I use the Rapid Cycle the most.. I can put it in at 4:00 and have hot bread for dinner at 6:00.  My dough cycle lasts one hour.  Its a great All Purpose, tried and true recipe!

ENJOY!!!  And comment back if any of you try this!

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Ahhh.. Bread!

  1. Hey thanks for posting your bread recipe. I will definetly give this one a try. Haven’t given the bread machine a go yet, but this week it will be happening.

    Thanks Sweetie – Karen

Leave a Reply

