BUSTED!!!

I knew it would happen, but I figured that I had a couple of days at least to come up with a plan… but, it happened at 6:00 this morning!  I was getting up, making myself some coffee.. and the question…”Soooooo.. what are you going to do with the monstrosity in t he garage???”  To which I replied.. ” I don’t know of any monstrosities.. but I have a free hutch/bookcase out there”  With GREAT emphasis on the FREEEEE!!  In fact I think I said it a few times.  He laughed.. he knows me.  So, he’s decided we can look for a new desk and use it as a hutch for it (I actually want a table to use as a desk.. so this idea may work) painted black or white.. we haven’t decided.  We could also look around for a small dresser and marry the two pieces together to make a bookshelf to store movies or books, also painted black or white.  We both agree to take of the spindles though.  Not our style.. and maybe re-wire the light that is inside if we use it on a desk.  So, I’m not in trouble… but I did get the eye roll!!! 

Today I NEEEEEEED to clean my house.  I’ve been piddling around too much on the internet the past few days.. and my house is suffering!  I did organize a couple of kitchen drawers this morning while my daughter was eating breakfast.  Since we moved here in July, I’ve been trying to make my kitchen work for me a little better.  Someday I’ll have my dream kichen!!  A friend and I decided that the Navy base here hired Design School Drop-outs to design our kitchen.. or men, men who’ve never stepped foot in the kitchen!!  Even though its pretty large, its very hard to get organized, especially when you are like me, and have several sets of dishes to store.. (see this post..Busy Morning)  So, I’m doing my best to figure out the best way to get myself organized.. one of my usual New Year’s Resolutions.  Next step.. (insert scary music here) the Spice Cabinet!!!!!

  Tonight for dinner I’m trying a new recipe.. Jerk Chicken Nacho’s.. Hopefully everyone likes it.  Here’s the recipe:

Jerk Chicken Nacho’s

6 cups tortilla chips

3 cups diced or shredded cooked chicken

2 cups cheddar/jack blend cheese

2 tablespoons Jerk Spice (got this at the grocery store)

1 sm red or yellow pepper (using yellow)

1/2 red onion

2 tbs. fresh cilantro

1 lime

1/4 cup sour cream mixed w/ one additional teaspoon of the Jerk Spice.

 Arrange chips on a baking sheet.  Combine chicken, cheese and 1 tbs of the Jerk Spice.  Spread mixture over the chips and bake at 425  for about 7 minutes or until the cheese is melted.  While that is baking, dice the bell pepper and red onion,  juice half of the lime, and mix together with the remaining tbs. of Jerk Spice.  Spoon the mixture over the Nacho’s after taking them out of the oven.  Snip the cilantro over the top, and serve with slices of the remaining lime.  Mix the sour cream with 1 tsp. of Jerk Spice.  Put in a small baggie and snip the edge.. pipe over the Nacho’s.

Now…off to scour craigslist to find  a table, or dresser.. or somethin!!!

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “BUSTED!!!

  1. “You put the lime in the coconut a drink it all up, you put the lime in the coconut and drink it all up…”

    That’s cool that you are living in the Pacific Northwest – that’s where I am from (Oregon, actually) but have lived in Massachusetts for 15 years.

    Our transfer station (used to be call a dump back when things actually got dumped!) has a special little building that you can put good & working stuff you don’t need anymore, or go in and take anything that’s there. I call it the “Treasure House”!

  2. Gina

    Yummy. I want to try that recipe. Thanks for sharing.

  3. LOVE jerk chicken! This sounds great! But you HAVE to try making your own jerk spice from scratch sometime–you would not believe the difference!

    Thanks for stopping by–I love that I found a fellow Erasure fan!!!

  4. I had to comment… you make me laugh. lol I too, am a military wife and spent 7 years in military housing….so I can relate to the comment about the numbskulls who “designed” your kitchen. Good luck with your FREE hutch/bookcase and post pictures when you paint it!

  5. Well, I’m glad to see that you think two of my comments were pretty good. Although I didn’t know that was a hutch. I just thought it was a bookcase.

    Yeah, those spindles have got to go.

  6. LMAO I can totally relate, I’m in base housing and some of the things make me shake my head. One of my biggest annoyances is the way they put the dishwasher and stove almost facing each other, can’t open both at the same time LMFAO

    And storage………UGH…….yeah…….big big issue for me.

    Good luck with the cleaning and organizing 🙂

Leave a Reply

